Uvac monastery is located 25 kilometers southwest from Zlatibor at the borders of Čajetina and Priboj municipalities in the Village Stublo. The Monastery is in the canyon of river Uvac which is a special nature reserve and has beautiful lakes, caves, ancient forests and rare plants and animals.
Uvac monastery was built in the 13th century as a unique shield to Bogomil heresy and expanding Islam. This middle age monastery was built by appointment of Nemanjić dynasty. There is a note in one of the book in the church from 1622 that testifies that this temple was dedicated to the birth of the Holy Mother of the God. Longtime ago, Uvac monastery was of crucial importance for survival of orthodox population in this picturesque valley. It was tear down in first decades of the 18th century when churches were torn down and burnt in Old Vlach and Serbia.
Thanks to the National Musem in Užice, the monastery was reconstructed, rebuilt, and church and a residence house were blessed by a priest, and in 1999, it was again put in service, since when it also has a brotherhood. After reviving it, after two and a half centuries, the whole complex is under state protection and presents a jewel in this old-valachian Župa valley.
Getting to the monastery is only possible on macadam road from Zlatibor and Priboj.